Fascinatingly put – as ever. “Undressing Discrimination” gives a detailed and honest account of what it’s like to be a disabled person, shopping for clothes. Trust us… it’s not easy!

defyingdisability

Discrimination on the basis of disability is everywhere, but most of the time, it takes a person living with a disability to actually point out the inequality for the general public to even realise.

In fact, even as a person who has been disabled for my whole life, it took a law degree, a disability human rights subject at university and a sudden realisation that I was a person who deserved rights to make me realise that what I was experiencing wasn’t ‘just the way it is’; I was experiencing discrimination.

On a recent trip to Sydney, I spent the day shopping at the Westfield in Parramatta. After wheeling around the large Myer Emporium, I had a lap full of clothes and a mindset of – ‘screw it! I’m on holiday!’ But as I wheeled into the fittings rooms in hope of squeezing into a size 12 pair of jeans…

View original post 663 more words

Leave a Reply

